American Express

American Express Aeroplan Card

Travel points, earns Aeroplan points

Annual fee$120
Foreign transaction fee2.5%
Purchase rate—
Income requirementNot stated

Welcome offer

Verified · Oct 4

Up to 45,000 Aeroplan points

Earn 35,000 points when you spend $7,500 in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 points when you spend $1,000 in month 13.

Minimum spend
$8,500 in 13 months
Apply by
Not stated

The annual fee goes up from $120 to $150 on January 12, 2027.

Checked on October 4, 2026. See the source page

See this card on the issuer's website ↗

Fees and requirements

Annual fee
$120
Foreign transaction fee
2.5%
Purchase rate
Not stated
Cash advance rate
Not stated
Income requirement
Not stated
Costco in store
Not accepted (Costco takes only Mastercard in store)

Fees and rates were imported on September 6, 2026, and the annual fee has been checked.

Welcome offer history

Earlier offers are struck through below, to help you judge whether now is a good time to apply. The current offer is 5,000 points more than the previous one on record.

  1. Now · Checked October 4, 2026Up to 45,000 Aeroplan pointsSpend $8,500 in 13 months · Annual fee $120 · No first-year waiver
  2. Before March 18, 2026 · Reported publicly at the timeUp to 40,000 Aeroplan points

Offers marked “Reported publicly at the time” ran before I started tracking this card myself (October 4, 2026). The numbers are second-hand, from reports published then, and I did not see those offers myself. Conditions the reports did not mention are not listed here.

Rewards

What each category earns

Valued at 1.6 cents per point. That is an assumption
CategoryEarn per $1Effective return
Groceries1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Dining and delivery1.5× Aeroplanabout 2.4%
Gas and EV charging1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Recurring bills1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Transit1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Drugstores1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Travel1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Entertainment1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Phone and internet1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Streaming1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Online shopping1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Convenience stores1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Office supplies1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%
Other spending1× Aeroplanabout 1.6%

High-return categories usually have a monthly or annual cap, and issuers exclude some merchants. Imported on September 6, 2026, not checked line by line.

Included insurance

Travel accident
$500,000
Flight delay
$500
Baggage delay
$500
Lost baggage
$500
Rental car collision
$85,000, 48 day(s)
Hotel burglary
$500
Extended warranty
1 year
Purchase protection
90 day(s)

Coverage amounts and number of days are as stated in the certificate of insurance.

← Back to the card library