Canada · Credit cards
Which card to open. Which card to use.
Checked every week.
Welcome offers and earn rates for Canada's major credit cards. Every entry shows the day I checked it and the page I saw it on.
Welcome offer tracker
What a new card pays right now
| Card | Welcome offer | Minimum spend | Annual fee | Apply by | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ScotiabankScotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card | Up to $300 cash backEarn 15% cash back on all purchases in the first 3 months, on up to $2,000 in spending (up to $300). First year free. | $2,000 in 3 months | $120First year free | Nov 1 | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| CIBCCIBC Aventura Visa Infinite Card | Up to 60,000 Aventura pointsEarn 15,000 points on your first purchase, plus 30,000 points when you spend $3,000 in the first 4 billing periods, plus another 15,000 points when you reach $5,000. First year free. | $5,000 in 4 months | $139First year free | Not stated | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| RBCRBC Cash Back Preferred World Elite Mastercard | Up to $300 cash backEarn an extra 15% cash back on your first $2,000 in spending in the first 3 months (up to $300). | $2,000 in 3 months | $120 | Feb 2, 2027 | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| TangerineTangerine Money-Back World Mastercard | Up to $120 cash backEarn $120 cash back when you spend $1,500 within 90 days of activation. | $1,500 in 3 months | No annual fee | Nov 30 | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| TDTD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card | Up to 50,000 Aeroplan pointsEarn 10,000 points on your first purchase, plus 15,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days, plus 25,000 points when you spend $12,000 within 12 months. First year free. | $12,000 in 12 months | $139First year free | Not stated | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| American ExpressAmerican Express Cobalt Card | Up to 15,000 Membership Rewards pointsEarn 1,250 points for every billing month in the first 12 months that you spend $750, up to 15,000 points. | $9,000 in 12 months | $191.88 | Not stated | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| CIBCCIBC Dividend Visa Card for Students | Up to $125 cash backEarn $25 on your first purchase, plus 10% cash back in the first 4 billing periods, on up to $1,000 in spending (up to $100). | $1,000 in 4 months | No annual fee | Not stated | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
| American ExpressAmerican Express Green Card | Up to 10,000 Membership Rewards pointsEarn 10,000 points when you spend $1,000 in the first 3 months. | $1,000 in 3 months | No annual fee | Not stated | Verified · Oct 4See the source page |
Rankings are not paid for. I picked these 8 myself. The full list has 99.
See all welcome offers →Tools
Already have cards? See how to use them
My wallet
Tick the cards you hold, and one table shows which to use for groceries, dining, gas and recurring bills. It also shows which kind of spending still lacks a good card.
Open →What a welcome offer is worth
See how much of a welcome offer is left after the annual fee, and whether your monthly spending can reach the minimum spend in time.
Open →Gift card stacking calculator
Add a gift card promotion to your credit card rewards and see what you really pay. Most useful when you buy from Apple.
Open →Card library
All 204 cards in one table
Filter by issuer, network, annual fee and reward type. Each card has its own page with earn rates, fees, insurance and the history of its welcome offer.
Open the card library →中文指南
The guides are in Chinese
The long-form guides (a first card for newcomers, groceries, Costco, cards with no foreign transaction fee and more) are written in Chinese. The data pages and tools on this side are the English edition.
Go to the guides (中文) →How it works
Every number has a source
I check welcome offers against the issuer's own page and note the day I looked. Where I could not confirm something, the page says so. Rankings are not paid for.
Methodology →