American Express
American Express Platinum Card
Cash back · Travel points, earns Amex Membership Rewards points
Welcome offer
Verified · Oct 4Up to 100,000 Membership Rewards points
Earn 70,000 points when you spend $10,000 in the first 3 months, plus 30,000 points when you make another purchase between months 15 and 17.
- Minimum spend
- $10,000 in 3 months
- Apply by
- Not stated
The last 30,000 points require keeping the card into the second year, which means paying the second year's annual fee.
Checked on October 4, 2026. See the source page
See this card on the issuer's website ↗Fees and requirements
- Annual fee
- $799
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Purchase rate
- Not stated
- Cash advance rate
- Not stated
- Income requirement
- Not stated
- Costco in store
- Not accepted (Costco takes only Mastercard in store)
Fees and rates were imported on September 6, 2026, and the annual fee has been checked.
Welcome offer history
I have tracked this card's welcome offer since October 4, 2026, and it has not changed. Each time it changes, the old offer will be struck through and kept here.
- Now · Checked October 4, 2026Up to 100,000 Membership Rewards pointsSpend $10,000 in 3 months · Annual fee $799 · No first-year waiver
Rewards
What each category earns
| Category | Earn per $1 | Effective return |
|---|---|---|
| Groceries | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Dining and delivery | 2× MR | about 2%–3.2% |
| Gas and EV charging | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Recurring bills | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Transit | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Drugstores | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Travel | 2× MR | about 2%–3.2% |
| Entertainment | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Phone and internet | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Streaming | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Online shopping | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Convenience stores | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Office supplies | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
| Other spending | 1× MR | about 1%–1.6% |
High-return categories usually have a monthly or annual cap, and issuers exclude some merchants. Imported on September 6, 2026, not checked line by line.
Benefits
- Concierge
- Yes
- Points transfer to airlines or hotels
- Yes
- Travel credit
- Yes
Included insurance
- Travel medical
- Included
- Travel medical (age 54 and under)
- $5,000,000, 15 day(s)
- Travel medical (age 64 and under)
- $5,000,000, 15 day(s)
- Trip cancellation
- $2,500
- Trip interruption
- $2,500
- Travel accident
- $500,000
- Flight delay
- $1,000
- Baggage delay
- $1,000
- Lost baggage
- $1,000
- Rental car collision
- $85,000, 48 day(s)
- Hotel burglary
- $1,000
- Extended warranty
- 1 year
- Purchase protection
- 120 day(s)
Coverage amounts and number of days are as stated in the certificate of insurance.