American Express

SimplyCash Preferred Card from American Express

Cash back

Annual fee$119.88
Foreign transaction fee2.5%
Purchase rate21.99%
Income requirementNot stated

Welcome offer

Verified · Oct 4

Up to $250 cash back

Earn an extra 10% cash back in the first 3 months, on up to $2,000 in spending (up to $200), plus a $50 statement credit when you make another purchase in month 13.

Minimum spend
$2,000 in 3 months
Apply by
Not stated

The annual fee is charged monthly at $9.99. The fee figure comes from another site, and I could not find it on the Amex page.

Checked on October 4, 2026. See the source page

See this card on the issuer's website ↗

Fees and requirements

Annual fee
$119.88
Foreign transaction fee
2.5%
Purchase rate
21.99%
Cash advance rate
21.99%
Income requirement
Not stated
Costco in store
Not accepted (Costco takes only Mastercard in store)

Fees and rates were imported on September 6, 2026, and the annual fee has been checked.

Welcome offer history

I have tracked this card's welcome offer since October 4, 2026, and it has not changed. Each time it changes, the old offer will be struck through and kept here.

  1. Now · Checked October 4, 2026Up to $250 cash backSpend $2,000 in 3 months · Annual fee $119.88

Rewards

What each category earns

CategoryEarn per $1
Groceries4%
Dining and delivery2%
Gas and EV charging4%
Recurring bills2%
Transit2%
Drugstores2%
Travel2%
Entertainment2%
Phone and internet2%
Streaming2%
Online shopping2%
Convenience stores2%
Office supplies2%
Other spending2%

High-return categories usually have a monthly or annual cap, and issuers exclude some merchants. Imported on September 6, 2026, not checked line by line.

Included insurance

Travel medical
Included
Travel medical (age 54 and under)
$5,000,000, 15 day(s)
Travel medical (age 64 and under)
$5,000,000, 15 day(s)
Travel accident
$100,000
Flight delay
$500
Baggage delay
$500
Lost baggage
$500
Rental car collision
$85,000, 48 day(s)
Hotel burglary
$500
Extended warranty
1 year
Purchase protection
90 day(s)
Mobile device
$1,000, 1 year

Coverage amounts and number of days are as stated in the certificate of insurance.

← Back to the card library