CIBC · Visa
CIBC Aeroplan Visa Card for Students
Travel points, earns Aeroplan points
Welcome offer
Verified · Oct 11Up to 10,000 Aeroplan points
Earn 2,500 points on your first purchase, plus 2,500 points when you spend $1,500 in the first 4 billing periods, plus 5,000 points when you reach $10,000 in the first 12 billing periods.
- Minimum spend
- $10,000 in 12 months
- Apply by
- Not stated
Checked on October 11, 2026. See the source page
See this card on the issuer's website ↗Fees and requirements
- Annual fee
- No annual fee
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Cash advance rate
- 22.99%
- Income requirement
- Not stated
- Costco in store
- Not accepted (Costco takes only Mastercard in store)
Fees and rates were imported on September 6, 2026, and the annual fee has been checked.
Welcome offer history
I have tracked this card's welcome offer since October 11, 2026, and it has not changed. Each time it changes, the old offer will be struck through and kept here.
- Now · Checked October 11, 2026Up to 10,000 Aeroplan pointsSpend $10,000 in 12 months · No annual fee
Rewards
What each category earns
| Category | Earn per $1 | Effective return |
|---|---|---|
| Groceries | 1× Aeroplan | about 1.6% |
| Dining and delivery | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Gas and EV charging | 1× Aeroplan | about 1.6% |
| Recurring bills | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Transit | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Drugstores | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Travel | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Entertainment | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Phone and internet | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Streaming | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Online shopping | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Convenience stores | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Office supplies | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
| Other spending | 0.67× Aeroplan | about 1.07% |
Checked against the issuer's page on October 14, 2026. High-return categories usually have a monthly or annual cap, and issuers exclude some merchants. See the source page
Included insurance
- Travel accident
- $100,000
- Rental car collision
- $65,000, 48 day(s)
- Extended warranty
- 1 year
- Purchase protection
- 90 day(s)
Coverage amounts and number of days are as stated in the certificate of insurance.